Saturday, February 21, 2009

2009 Film Independent’s Spirit Awards Winners

Winners are in Red... as they announce them online... This award show was really fun and crazy!!!

Yesterday the nominees where announced by the official press release and here are some of the categories.

Best Feature
Frozen River
Rachel Getting Married
Wendy and Lucy
*The Wrestler

Best Director
Ramin Bahrani for Chop Shop
Jonathan Demme for Rachel Getting Married
Lance Hammer for Ballast
Courtney Hunt for Frozen River
*Tom McCarthy for The Visitor

Best First Feature
Afterschool, Antonio Campos
Medicine for Melancholy, Barry Jenkins
Sangre de Mi Sangre, Christopher Zalla
Sleep Dealer, Alex Rivera
*Synecdoche, New York, Charlie Kaufman

John Cassavetes Award (best feature made under $500,000)
*In Search of a Midnight Kiss, Alex Holdridge
Prince of Broadway, Sean Baker
The Signal, David Bruckner, Dan Bush, Jacob Gentry
Take Out, Sean Baker
Turn the river, chris eigeman

Best Female Lead
Summer Bishil for Towelhead
Anne Hathaway for Rachel Getting Married
*Melissa Leo for Frozen River
Tarra Riggs for Ballast
Michelle Williams for Wendy and Lucy

Best Male Lead
Javier Bardem for Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Richard Jenkins for The Visitor
Sean Penn for Milk
Jeremy Renner for The Hurt Locker
*Mickey Rourke for The Wrestler

Best Supporting Female
*Penelope Cruz for Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Rosemarie DeWitt for Rachel Getting Married
Rosie Perez for The Take
Misty Upham for Frozen River
Debra Winger for Rachel Getting Married

Best Supporting Male
*James Franco for Milk
Anthony Mackie for The Hurt Locker
Charlie McDermott for Frozen River
JimMyron Ross for Ballast
Haaz Sleiman for The Visitor

Best Foreign Film
*The Class, Laurent Cantet, France

Gomorrah, Matteo Garrone, Italy
Hunger, Steve McQueen, UK and Ireland
Secret of the Grain, Abdellatif Keniche, France
Silent Light, Carlos Reygadas, Mexico, France, Netherlands and Germany

2009 Robert Altman Award: Synedoche, New York, Charlie Kaufman

To read all the award winners go here and to check the all the nominees see the press release or the official site. The award ceremony will air live on IFC on Saturday, February 21 at 5pm EST.

No comments yet