Saturday, December 13, 2008

2008 International Festival of New Latin American Cinema Award Winners

I’ve been following this festival that was held from December 2nd to 12th and because it had too many good films I decided to wait until the award winners were announced to post information in the blog. But if you are interested in Latin American Cinema I strongly suggest you browse the official site (available only in Spanish) to read about all the movies that were screened plus all the activities the fest had.

These are some of the award winners

Coral Award Feature Film - Fiction
First Prize
: Tony Manero, Pablo Larrain, Chile
Second Prize: Linha de Passe, Walter Salles and Daniela Thomas, Brazil
Third Prize: El Cuerno de la Abundancia, Juan Carlos Tabio, Cuba
Jury Special Prize: Leonera, Pablo Trapero, Argentino
Special Mention: La Buena Vida, Andres Wood, Chile

Best Director: Albertina Carri for La Rabia, Argentina
Best Actor: Alfredo Castro in Tony Manero, Chile
Best Actress: Sandra Corveloni in Linha de Passe, Brasil

Best Artistic Contribution: Perro come Perro, Carlos Moreno, Colombia
Special Mention: Filmefobia, Kilo Goifman, Brazil

FIPRESCI Award: La Rabia, Albertina Carri, Argentina

SIGNIS Award: Leonera, Pablo Trapero, Argentina
Special Mention: Linha de Pase, Walter Sales and Daniela Thomas, Brazil

First Films
First Prize: Parque Via, Enrique Rivero, Mexico
Second Prize: Mutum, Sandra Kogut, Brazil
Third Prize: Acne, Federico Veiroj, Uruguay

Coral Award Short Film – Fiction
Tierra y Pan,
Carlos Armella, Mexico
Special Mention: Hoy No Estoy, Gustavo Taretto, Argentina

To read all the collateral, documentaries, scripts and Latinoamerica Primera Copia awards winners go here.

No comments yet