Monday, December 15, 2008

2008 Boston Society of Film Critics Award Winners

Recently the society announced the award winners and here they are.

Best Picture (tie): Slumdog Millionaire and WALL-E

Best Director: Gus Van Sant for Milk and Paranoid Park
Best New Filmmaker: Martin McDonagh for In Bruges

Best Actor (tie): Sean Penn for Milk and Mickey Rourke for The Wrestler
Best Actress: Sally Hawkins for Happy-Go-Lucky
Best Supporting Actor
: Heath Ledger for The Dark Knight
Best Supporting Actress: Penélope Cruz for Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Best Ensemble Cast: Tropic Thunder

Best Foreign-Language Film: Let the Right One In
Best Animated Film

Best Documentary: Man on Wire

The award ceremony will be held on February 9, 2009 at Brattle Theater. To check all the award winners go here. I’m starting to see a pattern in the critics’ awards that have been announced and well, perhaps I’ll give a try to this Tropic Thunder movie a lot sooner that I expected.

No comments yet