Wednesday, December 10, 2008

14th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards

Yesterday the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) announced the nominees for the 2009 Awards and here they are for some categories.

Best Picture
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Dark Knight
The Reader
Slumdog Millionaire
The Wrestler

Best Actor
Clint Eastwood – Gran Torino
Richard Jenkins – The Visitor
Frank Langella – Frost/Nixon
Sean Penn – Milk
Brad Pitt – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Mickey Rourke – The Wrestler

Best Actress
Kate Beckinsale – Nothing But the Truth
Cate Blanchett – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Anne Hathaway – Rachel Getting Married
Angelina Jolie – Changeling
Melissa Leo – Frozen River
Meryl Streep – Doubt

Best Supporting Actor
Josh Brolin – Milk
Robert Downey, Jr. – Tropic Thunder
Philip Seymour Hoffman – Doubt
Heath Ledger – The Dark Knight
James Franco – Milk

Best Supporting Actress
Penelope Cruz – Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Viola Davis – Doubt
Vera Farmiga – Nothing But the Truth
Taraji P. Henson – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Marisa Tomei – The Wrestler
Kate Winslet – The Reader

Best Acting Ensemble
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Dark Knight
Rachel Getting Married

Best Director
Danny Boyle – Slumdog Millionaire
David Fincher – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Ron Howard – Frost/Nixon
Christopher Nolan – The Dark Knight
Gus Van Sant – Milk

Best Animated Feature
Kung Fu Panda
Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
Waltz With Bashir

Best Young Actor/Actress (Under 21)
Dakota Fanning – The Secret Life of Bees
David Kross – The Reader
Dev Patel – Slumdog Millionaire
Brandon Walters – Australia

Best Action Movie
The Dark Knight
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
Iron Man
Quantum of Solace

Best Comedy
Burn After Reading
Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Role Models
Tropic Thunder
Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Best Picture Made for Television
John Adams
Coco Chanel

Best Foreign Language Film
A Christmas Tale
I’ve Loved You So Long
Let the Right One In
Waltz With Bashir

To read the official press release go here and to read all the categories go here. The awards ceremony will be on Thursday, January 8 at 9:00pm and will be broadcasted by VH1.

No comments yet