Monday, December 01, 2008

13th Annual Satellite Awards Nominations

Yesterday the International Press Academy announced the nominations for the 2008 Satellite Awards and here are some categories.

Motion Picture -Drama
The Reader
Slumdog Millionaire
Revolutionary Road
Frozen River

Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Tropic Thunder
In Bruges

Motion Picture - Foreign Language Film
Let the Right One In, Sweden
The Class, France
Sangre de mi Sangre, Argentina
Reprise, Norway
Gomorrah, Italy
Caramel, Lebanon and France

Motion Picture -Animated or Mixed Media
The Tale of Desperaux
Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!
Waltz With Bashir
The Sky Crawlers

Thomas McCarthy for The Visitor
Ron Howard for Frost/Nixon
Gus Van Sant for Milk
Christopher Nolan for The Dark Night
Danny Boyle for Slumdog Millionaire
Stephen Daidry for The Reader

Actress - Drama
Melissa Leo for Frozen River
Angelina Jolie for Changeling
Anne Hathaway for Rachel Getting Married
Kristin Scott Thomas for I’ve Loved You So Long
Meryl Streep, Doubt
Kate Winslet, The Reader

Actress – Comedy or Musical
Sally Hawkins for Happy-Go-Lucky
Meryl Streep for Mamma Mia!
Lisa Kudrow for Kabluey
Kat Dennings for Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Catherine Deneuve for A Christmas Tale
Debra Messing for Nothing Like the Holidays

Actress – Supporting Role
Rosemarie DeWitt for Rachel Getting Married
Penelope Cruz for Elegy
Angelica Huston for Choke
Sohpie Okonedo for The Secret Life of Bees
Emma Thompson for Brideshead Revisited
Beyonce Knowles for Cadillac Records

Actor - Drama
Mickey Rourke for The Wrestler
Mark Ruffalo for What Doesn’t Kill You
Richard Jenkins for The Visitor
Frank Langella for Frost/Nixon
Leonardo Dicarpio for Revolutionary Road
Sean Penn for Milk

Actor – Comedy or Musical
Ricky Gervais for Ghost Town
Sam Rockwell for Choke
Josh Brolin for W.
Michael Cera for Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Brendan Gleeson for In Bruges
Mark Ruffalo in The Brothers Bloom

Actor – Supporting Role
Michael Shannon for Revolutionary Road
Robert Downey, Jr. for Tropic Thunder
Rade Sherbedgia for Fugitive Pieces
James Franco for Milk
Heath Leger for The Dark Night
Philip Seymour Hoffman for Doubt

To check nominations in all categories for movie, TV, and New Media as well as the Special Achievement awards go here. Winners will be announced on December 14.

So many movies to look forward to watch and perhaps these nominations look more like the probable in the Golden Globes than in any other award, what do you think?

No comments yet