Tuesday, July 22, 2008

10th Osian's Cinefan Festival of Asian and Arab Cinema Award Winners

Recently the fest run from July 10 to 20th in New Delhi announced the award winners and here they are.

Asian Arab Competition
Best Film: Tokyo Sonata, Kiyoshi Kurosawa, Japan, Netherlands and China, 2008
Special Jury Prize: Salt of This Sea, Annemarie Jacir, Palestine, Belgium and France, 2008
Best Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan for Uç Maymun (Three Monkeys), Turkey, France and Italy, 2008
Best Actor: Amor Hakkar for La Maison Jaune (The Yellow House), Algeria and France, 2007
Best Actress: Hiam Abbas and Rona Lipaz-Michael for The Lemon Tree, Israel, Germany and France, 2008

Indian Competition
Best film: Gulabi Talkies, Girish Kasaravalli, India, 2008
Best Director: Remo Dsouza for Lal Paharer Golpo (The Story of Red Hill), India, 2007
Best Actor: Rajat Kapoor for The Prisoner, Pyras Gupta, India, 2008 and Govind Namdeo for Kabootar, Maqbool Khan, India, 2008
Best Actress: Umashree for Gulabi Talkies, Girish Kasaravalli, India, 2008

First Feature Award: Confessional, Jerrold Viacrucis Tarog and Ruel Dahis Antipuesto, Philippines, 2007
In-Tolerance Award: Sakli Yuzler (Hidden Faces), Hadan Ipekci, Turkey, 2007
Audience Award: Bikur Ha-tizmoret (The Band’s Visit), Eran Kolirin, Israel and France, 2007
FIPRESCI Award: Ramchand Pakistani, Mehreen Jabbar, USA and Pakistan, 2008 and Salt of This Sea, Annemarie Jacir, Palestine, Belgium and France, 2008

Christine Hakim, actress and producer from Indonesia
Chantal Akerman, scriptwriter-cinematographer-actress-producer, Belgium
Wu Nien-je, screenwriter, Taiwan
Kais Al-Zubaidi, director, Palestine
Ketan Mehta, director, scripwriter and producer, India

There are many interesting movies in this festival, especially in the Indian section with what seems like arty Indian movies; if you feel like checking them go here.

No comments yet