Tuesday, June 24, 2008

54th Taormina Film Festival Award Winners

Recently this fest had their closing ceremony in Sicily, Italy and one of the most interesting facts of the fest was the jury President that was none other than Ferzan Ozpetek. These are the award winners.

Competition Mediterranea
Golden Tauro for Best Film: Eim Shams (Eye of the Sun), Ibrahim El Batout, Egypt, 2008
Special Jury Prize for Best Direction: Seyfi Teoman for Tatil Kitabi (Summer Book), Turkey, 2008
Best Performance: Tanja Ribic for Traktor, Ljubezen, in Rock’n Roll (Tractor, Love and Rock ‘n’ Roll), Branko Djuric, Slovenia, 2007

Beyond the Mediterranean
Best Film: 14 Kilómetros (14 Kilometers), Gerardo Olivares, Spain, 2007

Fatih Akin was honored with the Nielsen Prize for career achievement. Writer-director Paul Schrader was presented the Taormina Arte honor and actor Paolo Villaggio received the Arte Award.

The fest screened some interesting movies that you can find in both competition sections but also in the homage to Turkey section. The fest site is very basic and the links in English do not work, so I suggest you check it in Italian and then press the English flag to find if there is a page or not. The site is here.

No comments yet