Monday, June 09, 2008

11th Shanghai International Film Festival

This fest will take place from June 14 to 22 and the most interesting news is that the Jury President is none other than Wong Kar Wai and here are all the jury members.

Jury President: Wong Kar Wai
Ulrich Felsberg – German producer
Bille August – Danish director
Gila Almagor – Israeli writer
Kaori Momoi – Japanese actress and director
Joan Chen – American actress
Jianqi Huo – Chinese director

The festival has been criticized for not being much international, but with this jury obviously they want to correct the perception. The films In Competition for the Jin Jue Award are the following.

8 päivää ensi-iltaan (8 Days To Premiere), Perttu Leppä, Finland, 2008
Der Freund (The Friend), Micha Lewinsky, Switzerland, 2008
Die Tränen meiner Mutter (My Mother’s Tears aka Berlin-Buenos Aires), Alejandro Cardenas, Germany, 2007
Gynaikeies Synomosies (Women’s Conspiracies), Vassilis Vafeas, Greece, 2007
La Ronda (Love by Accident), Inés Braun, Argentina, 2008
I Viceré (The Viceroys), Roberto Faenza, Italy and Spain, 2007
Mukha, Vladimir Kott, Russia, 2008
Nereikalingi zmones (Loss), Maris Martinsons, Lithuania, 2007
Nick of Time, Qunshu Gao, China, 2007
Paris, Cédric Klapisch, France, 2007 (yes is with Juliette Binoche)
Plyus Odin (+1), Oksana Bychkova, Russia, 2008
Second-Hand Wedding, Paul Murphy, New Zealand, 2008
The Taste of Fish, Shingo Matsubara, Japan, 2008
Uri Saengae Choego-ui Sungan (Forever The Moment), Soon-rye Yim, Korea, 2008 (Could be interesting… about female handball team)
Urtin Duu, Hasichaolu, China, 2007 (Seems very interesting)
Václav, Jiri Vejdelek, Czech Republic, 2007

There are many more movies and shorts in the site that unfortunately the English section has not much information and the site is not easy to navigate, but if you want to check them go here.

No comments yet