2019/2020 Key Dates
Film Critics Update: Today, January 14 - Winners from Denver FCS.

Saturday, May 25, 2019

2019 Cannes Soundtrack Award Winners

This year organizers gave the top award to none other than three times Oscar nominated Alberto Iglesias for the soundtrack of Dolor y Gloria by Pedro Almodovar.

A special mention is given to Jean-Michel Blais for making the original music of Matthias and Maxime by Xavier Dolan.

Winners are below in *BLUE.  To check news at official site go here, but wait a while for them to update.  Meantime check news at official facebook here.

Here is the top winner and the award.

2019 Cannes Soundtrack Award Selection

Cannes Soundtrack was founded in 2010 and has given a reward for Best Film Music from The Official Selection of the Festival since 2012. The reward is handed out by a Jury composed by journalists.

These are the words of Vincent Doerr, Founder of Cannes Soundtrack

From May 8th to 19th, the 71st Cannes Festival edition will take place. Since its creation, the Festival has revealed some of the biggest talents of Cinema, from Fellini, Colpi, Demy to Jane Campion and Roland Joffé, and carried them to the edge of film heritage as cult directors.

The musics and composers of all those films is also a determining part of the history of the festival. Even more, this music transports the spectator into its own imaginary world and creates the original soundtrack of our lives. Since 1947, the Cannes Festival invites us to discover the greatest composers like Ennio Morricone, Georges Delerue, Michel Legrand or Michael Nyman and Nino Rota.

Cannes Soundtrack allows to cast a light on the films’ music, and was founded as an echo of the Festival, in the aim of reconciling Music & Cinema. Every year, a jury of journalists rewards the best soundtrack and their composers among the Official Competition. For this 8th edition, the jury is composed of 26 journalists, that will meet up on the croisette the 17th of May to deliberate.

These are the eleven (11) original music composers in contention for the gold record of this 9th edition of the Cannes Soundtrack Award.

James Newton Howard for A Hidden Life by Terrence Malik
Fatima Al Qadiri for Atlantic by Mati Diop
Dickon Hinchliffe for Frankie by Ira Sachs
*Jean-Michel Blais for Matthias and Maxime by Xavier Dolan  Winner of Prix D'Honneur
*Alberto Iglesias for Pain and Glory by Pedro Almodovar  Winner of Disque D'Or
Grégoire Hetzel for Roubaix, a Light by Arnaud Desplechin
George Fenton for Sorry We Missed You by Ken Loach
Jeong Jae-Il for Parasite by Bong Joon-ho
Para One for Portrait of the Young Girl On Fire by Céline Sciamma
The Pink Noise for The Miserable by Ladj Ly
Nicolas Piovani for The Traitor by Marco Bellocchio

If you wish to learn the 2019 Jury go Official Site here.

No comments yet