Saturday, May 21, 2016

2nd L’Œil d’Or Documentary Award Winners

Today at noon organizers had the award ceremony at the Salon des Ambassadeurs in the Palais des Festivals and the second documentary annual award went to Eryk Rocha from Brazil with his documentary feature Cinema Novo. Also Shirley Abraham and Amit Madheshiya from India with their film Cinema Travelers collected a Special Mention.

To read news at official site go here or check the photos and the announcements at La Scam twitter account here.

Winners are in *BLUE.

Today The French Civil Society for Multimedia Authors (Scam) published the selection of documentaries that will be in competition for the second edition of the award that honors short and feature-lenght documentaries in the Festival de Cannes at the Official Selection, Un Certain Regard, Cannes Classics, Director's Fortnight, Semaine de la Critique, Special Screenings, Out of Competition and Short films.

Let's recall that the ‘L'Œil d’Or’ Documentary Award was created in 2015 by the Scam, in collaboration with the Cannes Festival and its General Delegate Thierry Frémaux, with the support of the INA (the French national audiovisual Institute).

This year the international jury is headed by none other than Gianfranco Rosi, Golden Bear at Berlinale 2016 and is made of the following jury members:
Anne Aghion, French-American director
Natacha Regnier, Belgian actress
Thierry Garrel, guest curator of the International Documentary Festival DOXA
Amar Labaki, brasilian film critic, founder and director of It’s All True ‐International Documentary Film Festival

The L'OEil d’Or and a cash prize will be presented to the creator of the winning film on Saturday 21 May at the Palais des festivals.

En 2015, L'OEil d'Or Prize went to Marcia Tambutti Allende for Allende, mi abuelo Allende. The judging panel of the first‐ever L’OEil d’or documentary film prize was chaired by Rithy Panh and made up of Nicolas Philibert, Irène Jacob, Diana El Jeiroudi and Scott Foundas.

There are seventeen (17) documentaries running for the award this year

Special Screenings
Hissène Habré, une tragédie tchadienne (Hissiein Habre, A Chadian Tragedy), Mahamat-Saleh Haroun, Chad, Senegal and France
L'Ultima Spiaggia (The Last Resort), Thanos Anastopoulos and Davide del Degan, Italy, France and Greece
Wrong Elements, Jonathan Littell, USA

Cannes Classics
Bernadette Lafont et Dieu créa la femme libre, Esther Hofffenberg, France
*Cinema Novo, Eryk Rocha, Brasil Winner of the L'Œil d’Or
Close encounters with Vilmos Zsigmond, Pierre Filmon, France
Et La femme créa Hollywood (Women Who Run Hollywood), Clara and Julia Kuperberg, France
Exil, Rithy Panh, France
Gentleman Rissient, Benoît Jacquot, Pascal Mérigeau and Guy Seligmann, France
Midnight Return: The Story of Billy Hayes and Turkey, Sally Sussman, USA
*The Cinema Travelers, Shirley Abraham and Amit Madheshiya, India Winner of a Special Mention
The Family Whistle, Michele Russo, Italy
Voyage à travers le cinéma français, Bertrand Tavernier, France

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs
Les Vies de Thérèse, Sébastien Lifshitz. France
Risk, Laura Poitras, Germany and USA

Two other documentaries are to be presented at Cannes Out of Competition for the L’OEil d’Or; no doubt these additional screenings reflect the growing popularity of documentary films in cinemas

Swagger, Olivier Babinet, France
Madame B, Histoire d'Une Nord-Coreene (Mrs. B.), Jero Yun, France and South Korea

Elated by the large presence of documentary features, with a high quality selection, LaScam is also delighted by the homage to two major figures of documentary cinema, both already recompensed by LaScam with a lifetime achievement award for their films: Raymond Depardon and Frederick Wiseman.

To check the announcement at official site go here.

No comments yet