Friday, May 22, 2015

2015 Cannes Short Films Award Winners

The first short films award winners have been announced just a few minutes ago in a ceremony hosted by Gilles Jacob with the presence of the Short Films and Cinéfondation Jury.

Have to share that this year I really missed Gilles Jacob as he has such an elegant presence that current new festival president does not have. We miss you! But we know that age is merciless. Sigh.

To check the Cinéfondation and Short Film award winners please go below. Award winners are in *LIGHT PURPLE.

Post will be in progress until Sunday when the Short Films competition winners will be announced.

If you wish to check the announcement at the official site go here.

A few minutes ago the complete jury for these two sections was announced and no doubt the best news are: Cécile de France is back once again to Cannes! Unfortunately not as a host (why? she did so good at the Cesar Awards) but as a jury member. Sigh. Still it is great news.

This year, the Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury, created in 1998, brings together film-maker Joana Hadjithomas (Lebanon), director Rebecca Zlotowski (France), actress Cécile de France (Belgium) and actor Daniel Olbrychski (Poland) under the wings of its president Abderrahmane Sissako (Mauritania).

In photo: Cécile de France, Daniel Olbrychski, Abderrahmane Sissako, Rebecca Zlotowski, and Joana Hadjithomas.

The Jury’s task is to award prizes to three of the 18 films made by film school students and shown as part of the Cinéfondation Selection. The Cinéfondation prizes will be announced by the Jury on Friday 22nd May, at a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre to be followed by a screening of the award winning films.

The Jury will also name the winner of the Short Film Palme d’or from among the nine films selected for the Competition. The Short Film Palme d’or will be awarded at the Closing Ceremony of the 68th Festival de Cannes on Sunday 24th May.

One day before the press conference where organizers will announce the Official Selection, the short films in the two competitive sections where announced and here they are.

Short Films Competition

This year, the selection committee received 4,550 short films – 1,000 more than in 2014 – from over 100 countries. The 2015 Short Films Competition comprises nine films (seven works of fiction and two animations), mostly from Asia and Europe, with one representative of Latin America and one from Oceania.

These nine films are all in the running for the 2015 Short Film Palme d’Or, to be awarded by Abderrahmane Sissako, President of the Jury, at the official prize-giving ceremony of the 68th Festival de Cannes on 24th May.

Ave Maria, Basil Khalil, Palestine, France and Germany, 14'
Copain (Buddy), Jan Roosens and Raf Roosens, Belgium 14'
Le Repas Dominical (Sunday Lunch), Céline Devaux, France 13' (animation)
Love is Blind, Dan Hodgson, UK, 6'
Patriot, Eva Riley, UK, 14'
Presente Imperfecto (Present Imperfect), Iair Said, Argentina, 15'
Sali (Tuesday), Ziya Demirel, Turkey and France, 12'
The Guests, Shane Danielsen, Australia, 10'
موج '٩٨ Waves '98, Ely Dagher, Lebanon and Qatar, 14' (animation)

Check info and trailer (when available) @MOC.

Cinéfondation Selection

To mark its 18th year, the Cinéfondation Selection has chosen 18 films (14 works of fiction and four animations), from among the 1,600 works submitted this year by film schools from all four corners of the globe. A total of sixteen (16) countries from four continents are represented.

Over a third of the films selected come from schools taking part for the first time, and it is also the first time that a Spanish film school has seen one of its films reach the selection stage. There is a strong showing from Europe once again, with 11 out of the 18 films selected.

These are the 18 short films in the competition with their original name (if available), the name in English, the director, the production country, runtime and the school attended by the director.

Четырнадцать шагов 14 Steps, Maksim Shavkin, Russia, 37', Moscow School of New Cinema
Abwesend (Absent), Eliza Petkova, Germany, 13', Deutsche Film & Fernsehakademie (dffb)
Ainahan ne Palaa (To Return Until), Saila Sorri, Finland, 17', Aalto University, ELO Film School Helsinki
Anfibio (Anphibian), Héctor Silva Núñez, Cuba, 15', EICTV
Asara Rehovot Mea Etsim (Ten Buildings Away), Miki Polonski, Israel, 25', Minshar for Art
El Ser Magnético (The Magnetic Nature), Mateo Bendesky, Argentina, 17', Universidad del Cine (FUC)
Het Paradijs (Paradise), Laura Vandewynckel, Belgium 6', RITS School of Arts Brussels
Koshtargah (Slaughterhouse), Behzad Azadi, Iran, 24', Art University of Tehran
Leonardo, Félix Hazeaux, Thomas Nitsche, Edward Noonan, Franck Pina, Raphaëlle Plantier, France, 6', MOPA (ex Supinfocom Arles)
Les Chercheurs (The Wheels of Emotions), Aurélien Peilloux, France, 32', La Fémis
*Locas Perdidas (Lost Queens), Ignacio Juricic Merillán, Chile, 28',Carrera de Cine y TV Universidad de Chile Winner of Second Prize
Manoman, Simon Cartwright, UK, 11' National Film and Television School
Retriever, Tomáš Klein and Tomáš Merta, Czech Republic, 23', FAMU Prage
日光之下 Ri Guan Zhi Xia (Under the Sun), Qiu Yang, Australia, 19', The VCA, Film & TV School, Melbourne University
*Share, Pippa Bianco, USA, 11', AFI's Directing Workshop for Women Winner of the First Prize
Tsunami, Sofie Kampmark, Denmark, 7', The Animation Workshop
*Víctor XX, Ian Garrido López, Spain, 20', ESCAC Winner of Third Prize (tie)
*Возвращение Эркина Vozvrasheinie Erkina (The Return of Erkin), Maria Guskova, Russia, 28', High Courses for Scriptwriters and Film Directors Winner of Third Prize (tie)

Check available info and trailers @MOC

The three Cinéfondation prizes will be awarded at a ceremony preceding the screening of the prize-winning films on Friday 22nd May in the salle Buñuel.

As of this moment will start to look for info for each short film; will post available info and/or trailers somewhere.  Will update this post with links to info. All short films will be listed again in the one post that has ALL films in the Cannes 2015 Official Selection that will be announced tomorrow.

No comments yet