Monday, February 02, 2015

2015 Robert Awards Winners

Watched for a while the streaming of the awards ceremony, but was kind of irregular and stopped watching. Still was able to see the big winner of the night, the one that made his first public appearance in Denmark in almost four years, the outstanding director -no matter his antics-, the great Lars von Trier. His director's cut, his own edit, the longest version of his film, collected eight Roberts out of the 16 nominations Nymphomaniac Directors's Cut had.

Lars von Trier Robert swept left the other top nominees with two awards each, with the exception of Niels Arden Oplev's Kapgang that left empty handed.

Winners are in *BLUE.  To check winners in all categories go Academy official site here, available only in Danish or go here for English.

Yesterday the Danish Film Academy announced the nominations that honor Danish cinema and as expected, Nymphomaniac Director's Cut leads the pack with 16 nominations.

Here are the nominations for some categories and if you wish to learn nominees in all categories go to Academy official site here, available only in Danish. For English suggest to use Chrome browser with easy-to-use translation.

In case you wonder why the movie that Denmark sent to the 2015 Oscars foreign-language film category, Sorg og glæde (Sorrow and Joy) has no nominations,then you will find the answer in last year awards where movie got several nominations including Best Film. Check post here.

Fasandræberne, Mikkel Nørgaard
Kapgang (Speed Walking), Niels Arden Oplev
Klumpfisken, Søren Balle
*Nymphomaniac Director's Cut, Lars von Trier
Stille hjerte (Silent Heart), Bille August

Best Feature for Children and Youth Audiences
*Antboy: Den røde furies hævn (Antboy: Revenge of the Red Fury), Ask Hasselbalch
Kapgang (Speed Walking), Niels Arden Oplev
Lev stærkt (On the Edge), Christian E. Christiansen
Når dyrene drømmer (When Animals Dream), Jonas Alexander Arnby
Ækte Vare, Fenar Ahmad

Best Director
Bille August for Stille hjerte (Silent Heart)
*Lars von Trier for Nymphomaniac Director's Cut
Mikkel Nørgaard for Fasandræberne
Niels Arden Oplev for Kapgang (Speed Walking)
Søren Balle for Klumpfisken

Best Actress
*Bodil Jørgensen in All Inclusive
Charlotte Gainsbourg in Nymphomaniac Director's Cut
Danica Curcic in Fasandræberne
Ghita Nørby in Stille hjerte (Silent Heart)
Sidse Babett Knudsen in Kapgang (Speed Walking)

Best Actor
*Henrik Birch in Klumpfisken (The Sunfish)
Mikael Persbrandt in En du elsker (Someone You Love)
Morten Grunwald in Stille hjerte (Silent Heart)
Nikolaj Lie Kaas in Fasandræberne
Stellan Skarsgård in Nymphomaniac Director's Cut

Best Original Screenplay
Christian Torpe for Stille hjerte (Silent Heart)
Kim Fupz Aakeson & Pernille Fischer Christensen for En du elsker (Someone You Love)
*Lars von Trier for Nymphomaniac Director's Cut
Mette Heeno for All Inclusive
Rasmus Birch for Når dyrene drømmer (When Animals Dream)

It is now up to the Danish Film Academy 1,650 members to vote on the final winners in all categories. The awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, February 1st at the Tivoli Hotel & Convention Center in Copenhagen.

There is one movie that I'm still looking forward to watch since Cannes 2014, When Animals Dream and only hope that can watch it soon. Update: movie is great but not as good as I hoped.

No comments yet