Sunday, April 06, 2014

8th Asian Film Award Winners

A few days back the Asian Film Awards Academy had their award ceremony and the big winner is none other than the Grandmaster by extraordinary filmmaker Won Kar-wai by collecting seven awards including best picture, best director, best actress and more.

Really regret that excellent actor Tony Leung (still consider him THE best actor in the world) didn't got an honor BUT do not mind that Irfan Khan received the award as he gave us a great performance in The Lunchbox.

Winners are in *BLUE. If you wish to learn winners in all categories please go official site here.


On February 11 the Asian Film Awards Academy announced its establishment as the official organizer of the annual Asian Film Awards. To remind you readers, during the past seven years the awards were organized by the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society.

The newly established Academy will be based in Hong Kong and is chaired by Dr. Wilfred Wong Ying-wai, who is also the chairman of the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society. Committee members include Mr. Lee Yong-kwan, Director of the Busan International Film Festival in South Korea, and Mr. Yasushi Shiina, Director General of the Tokyo International Film Festival and TIFFCOM market from Japan.

The AFA Academy also announced that the 8th Asian Film Awards will be presented by an innovative collaboration with Asia’s leading integrated entertainment resort City of Dreams Macau. The award ceremony will be held on March 27, 2014 at the state-of-the-art Dancing Water Theater, home to the world’s largest water-based extravaganza “The House of Dancing Water”.

Wong Kar-wai's The Grandmaster leads the nominations with 11 nominations and to check nominees in all categories please go here or here.

Best Film
無人區 Wu ren qu (No Man's Land), Hao Ning, China
*一代宗師 Yi dai zong shi (The Grandmaster),Wong Kar-Wai, China and Hong Kong
舟を編む Fune wo amu (The Great Passage), Yûya Ishii ,Japan
Dabba (The Lunchbox), Ritesh Batra, India, France, Germany and USA
Snowpiercer, Joon-ho Bong, France, Korea and USA
郊遊 Jiao you (Stray Dogs), Ming-liang Tsai, France and Taiwan

Best Director
Bong Joon-ho for Snowpiercer, France, Korea and USA
Anthony Chen for Ilo Ilo, Singapore
Koreeda Hirokazu for Soshite chichi ni naru (Like Father, Like Son), Japan
Tsai Ming-liang for Jiao you (Stray Dogs), France and Taiwan
*Wong Kar-wai for Yi dai zong shi (The Grandmaster), China and Hong Kong

Best Actress
Eugene Domingo in Barber's Tales, Philippines
Han Hyo-joo in Cold Eyes, South Korea
Paw Hee Ching in Rigor Mortis, Hong Kong
Maki Yoko in The Ravine Of Goodbye, Japan
*Zhang Zi Yi in The Grandmaster, Hong Kong and China

Best Actor
Fukuyama Masaharu in Like Father, Like Son, Japan
*Irrfan Khan in The Lunchbox, India
Lee Kang Sheng in Stray Dogs, France and Taiwan
Tony Leung Chiu Wai in The Grandmaster, Hong Kong and China
Song Kang-ho in The Attorney, South Korea

Jury List
Jury President: Peter Ho-Sun Chan, Hong Kong
Celebrity Jury: Donnie Yen, Hong Kong
Ronald Arguelles, Philippines
John Baldalu, Indonesia
Patricia Cheng, Hong Kong
Kenji Ichizaka, Japan
Christian Jeune, France
Eric Khoo, Singapore
Lee Yong-Kwan, South Korea
Kong Rithdee, Thailand
tien-hisang Wen, Taiwan
Jacob Wong, Hong Kong

Have seen some movies but in general believe there are some great movies that will be honored this year.

No comments yet