Sunday, February 02, 2014

28th Annual ASC Awards Winners

Last night the group had their award nominations and as expected -at least by me- Gravity won the top award.

Awards are not yet at the official site here but eventually they will be; but if you wish to check winners in other categories go official Twitter here.

Winners are in *BLUE.

Yesterday the ASC announced a new award, ASC Spotlight Award, created to recognize outstanding cinematography in features and documentaries typically screened at film festivals, internationally or limited theatrical release, which as you readers know are my kind of movies.

The inaugural nominees are:

*Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski for Ida
Mark Lee Ping Bing for Renoir
Camille Cottagnoud for Winter Nomads

The award will be given along with the others awards on February 1st at the Hollywood & Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom.

Today the American Society of Cinematography announced their nominations and to everybody's surprise there are seven (7) films nominated thanks to a three-way tie that increased the number from the usual five.

As last year, BAFTA category and ASC nods are the same with the exception of the two additional ones, Prisoners and The Grandmaster.

The Nominees for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography

Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years a Slave
Barry Ackroyd for Captain Phillips
*Emmanuel Lubezki for Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel for Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael for Nebraska
Roger Deakins for Prisoners
Phillippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster

To check official press release go here and to learn nominees in television categories announced last December go here. Have to comment that The Grandmaster has outstanding cinematography but as far as I remember Prisoners did not impress me with remarkable cinematography even do I liked Denis Villeneuve first English-language feature film; still believe that Gravity could win this category -by far.

No comments yet