Sunday, February 09, 2014

26th Annual Scripter Award Winner

Last night the group announced the winners for the current edition and believe that winner is extremely well-deserved as 12 Years a Slave is the big winner.

Winner is in *BLUE. To read press release go official site but have to wait as is not posted yet; read news here.

A few minutes ago the USC Libraries announced the nominations for the current edition that honors the screenwriter(s) and original author(s) of what the 33-member selection committee believes is the year's most accomplished cinematic adaptation.

The Scripters will be announced at the awards ceremony on February 8th at USC. Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford will serve as honorary dinner chairs.

From the 86 eligible adaptations these are the nominees.

*Screenwriter John Ridley for 12 Years a Slave and Solomon Northup author of Twelve Years a Slave
Screenwriter Billy Ray for Captain Phillips and Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty, authors of A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs, and Dangerous Days at Sea
Screenwriters Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope for Philomena and Martin Sixsmith author of The Lost Child of Philomena Lee
Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for The Spectacular Now and Tim Tharp author of The Spectacular Now
Screenwriters Carroll Cartwright and Nancy Doyne for What Maisie Knew, adapted from the novel by Henry James

To read the news go here as official site does not have yet the selection but soon will be here.

No comments yet