Monday, January 20, 2014

2014 Guldbaggen Awards Winners

To my surprise the awards ceremony was streamed live but my Swedish is really poor, still watch a bit of a sketch with a drinking man, which is highly unusual.

Anyway winners are in *BLUE. To check winners in all categories go here.

Today the Swedish Film Institute announced the nominations for the 50th Annual Guldbaggen Awards and the great news is that most movies are new to me so I'll be looking forward to watch them as soon as possible. Leading the pack is Monica Z with 11 nominations followed by Känn ingen sorg with 9; but most interesting is The Reunion directed by Anna Odell as Odell not only directed but also performs and wrote the screenplay, giving her 4 nominations.

Awarded annually since 1964, the Guldbagge, or Golden Beetle, is the Swedish Film Institute's award for achievements in film from the previous year. The beetle-shaped award was designed by Swedish sculptor Karl Axel Pehrson. Award ceremony will include the Gullspira (for extraordinary contribution in films for children plus the Audience Award and will be on January 20, 8pm, at Cirkus in Stockholm; hope that will be streamed live as they did last year but for those living in Sweden Swedish Television (SVT) will be broadcasting the event live.

Best Film
*Återträffen (The Reunion)
Känn ingen sorg (Shred No Tears)
Monica Z

Best Director
*Per Fly for Monica Z
Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein for Känn ingen sorg (Shred No Tears)
Anna Odell for Återträffen (The Reunion)

Best Actress
*Edda Magnason in Monica Z
Anna Odell in Återträffen (The Reunion)
Gunilla Röör in En gång om året

Best Actor
Robert Gustafsson in Hundraåringen som klev ut genom fönstret och försvann (The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared)
*Mikael Persbrandt in Mig äger ingen (Nobody Owns Me)
Matias Varela in Snabba cash – Livet deluxe (Easy Money: Life Deluxe)

To check nominees in all categories go here or here.

No comments yet