Sunday, February 10, 2013

25th Annual Scripter Award Winner

From news we learn that the winner this year is none other than the script of Argo. Announcement is not yet at official site but will be soon.  Winner is in *BLUE.

Believe that the author of the article, Joshuah Bearman, truly deserves the award as his article is outstanding for the story and the way is written; but as said before, in my opinion article was superior to the the script that could have had lots of improvement to make movie more memorable.

The award is voted by 41 critics, screenwriters and film professionals; now the question is whether Argo is heading to get honored again at the Writers Guild next week, if movie adapted screenplay repeats the win then we will have a better guess for the category in our Oscar predictions.

Another award given at the ceremony is USC Libraries Literary Achievement Award to Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana for significant, sustained contributions to the art of adaptation throughout their careers. Perhaps honorees most recognizable adaptation is the one they did for Brokeback Mountain but there are more like Hud, The Last Picture Show, Terms of Endearment, etc.; the writing partners have won 13 Oscars over the years.

On January 15 USC Libraries announced the finalists for this year edition and to remain us all, the Scripter Award honors the screenwriter or screenwriters of the year’s most accomplished cinematic adaptation as well as the author of the written work upon which the screenplay is based.

These are the finalists.

*Joshuah Bearman, author of the article “The Great Escape,” Antonio J. Mendez, author of The Master of Disguise, and screenwriter Chris Terrio, for Argo
For Beasts of the Southern Wild, dramatist Lucy Alibar, who wrote the play Juicy and Delicious, and screenwriter Benh Zeitlin, who co-wrote the screenplay with Alibar
Novelist Yann Martel and screenwriter David Magee for Life of Pi
Doris Kearns Goodwin, author of Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln, and screenwriter Tony Kushner for Lincoln
Stephen Chbosky, author of the novel Perks of Being a Wallflower, as well as the screenplay based upon the book
For Silver Linings Playbook, author Matthew Quick and screenwriter David O. Russell

This year marks the award's 25th anniversary and the ceremony will be on Saturday, February 9 and seems there will be a webcast at the official site. To read the official press release go here.

No comments yet