Friday, October 24, 2008

2nd Lux Cinema Prize

Inaugurated in 2007, the LUX Prize supports the distribution of European films in the European Union. It will be used to sub-title the winning film in the Union's 23 official languages and to produce one copy per Member State in 35 mm format. The 785 members of the European Parliament vote the award.

A panel selected ten films that illustrate the European integration process, topical European issues or cultural diversity in the Union. Out of these ten movies, three were selected to be in competition this year and here they are.

Le Silence de Lorna (The Silence of Lorna), Jean-Piere and Luc Dardene, Belgium, France and Italy, 2008
Delta, Kornél Mundruczó, Hungary and Germany, 2008
Občan Havel (Citizen Havel), Miroslav Janek and Pavel Koutecký, Czech Republic, 2008

In the recent award ceremony the winner was announced and the award was given to Jean Pierre and Luc Dardene for their film Le Silence de Lorna.

The first Lux Cinema Prize was awarded to Fatih Akin for Auf der Anderen Seite (The Edge of Heaven) in 2007.

To learn more about this interesting award go here.

No comments yet