Sunday, August 17, 2008

61st Locarno International Film Festival Award Winners

The closing ceremony of the 61st Locarno International Film Festival took place on Saturday, August 16th 2008 at the Piazza Grande and here are the winners.

International Competition

Golden Leopard: Parque Vía, Enrique Rivero, Mexico

Special Jury Prize: 33 Sceny Z Zycia (33 Scenes from Life),Malgoska Szumowska, Germany and Poland
Best Director: Denis Côté for Elle Veut Le Chaos, Canada
Leopard for Best Actress: Ilaria Occhini for Mar Nero, Federico Bondi, Italy, Romania and France
Leopard for Best Actor: Tayanç Ayaydin for Pazar – Bir Ticaret Masali (The Market – A Tale of Trade), Ben Hopkins, Germany, UK, Turkey and Kazakhstan
Special Mentions
Liu Mang De Sheng Yang (Feast of Villains),PAN Jianlin, China
Daytime Drinking, Noh Young-seok, South Korea

Filmmakers of the Present Competition
Golden Leopard
: La Forteresse, Fernad Melgar, Switzerland
Special Jury Prize: Alicia en el País, Esteban Larraín, Chile
Special Mention: Prince of Broadway, Sean Baker, USA

Best First Feature Competition Award: März, Händl Klaus, Austria

Leopards of Tomorrow
International Competition
Golden Leopard
: Dez Elefantes, Eva Randolph, Brazil
Silver Leopard: Kaupunkilaisia, Juho Kuosmanen, Finland
Special Mention: Resolution, Pavel Oreshnikov, Russia

National Competition
Golden Leopard: La Délogeuse, Julien Rouyet, Switzerland
Silver Leopard: Un Día y Nada, Lorenz Merz, Switzerland

Best Newcomer: Au Café Romand, Richard Szotyori, Switzerland
Special Mention: Im Wendekreis des Bären, Ciril Braem, Germany

Cinema e Giuventù
International Competition: Babin, Isamu Hirabayashi, Japan
Special Mention: Cio Banul Zburator, Catalin Musat, Romania

Other Awards
Audience Award
: Son of Rambow, Garth Jennings, France, Germany and UK
Piazza Grande Award: Back Soon, Sólveig Anspach, Island and France
Netpac Prize: Daytime Drinking, Noh Young-seok, South Korea
FIPRESCI Prize: Parque Vía, Enrique Rivero, Mexico
Oecumenical Jury Prize: Mar Nero, Federico Bondi, Italy, Romania and France
FICC/IFFS Prize: Yuriev Den (Yuri’s Day), Kirill Serebrenikov, Germany and Russia
CICAE Prize: Sonbahar (Autum), Özcan Alper, Turkey and Germany

Critics Week Prize: Latawce (Kites), Beata Dzianowicz, Poland

To check the complete list of award winners please go here.

Open Doors Award-Winning Projects
Production Support
Sentados Frente al Fuego
, Alejandro Fernández, Chile
Jean Gentil, Laura Amelia Guzmán and Israel Cárdenas Ramírez, Dominican Republic and Mexico
Development Grant
Alejo Crisóstomo, Guatemala

To check all the details of the Open Doors winners go here.

No comments yet