Sunday, February 03, 2008

37th Rotterdam International Film Festival Winners

Last Friday most of the awards winners were announced and here they are.

VPRO Tiger Awards
Wonderful Town by Aditya Assarat
(Thailand, 2007) ‘for its amazing imaging through the film and a fresh perspective on the disaster of Tsunami. The film is a societal mirror in which we see Tsunami’s loss in different layers. The Jury also values the unconventional ending of the film’

Flower in the Pocket by Liew Seng Tat (Malaysia, 2007) ‘because of its well considered and aware look in the world of children. The actors are chosen correctly and guided and directed properly. The film has an excellent visual expression.’

Go With Peace Jamal (Ma salama Jamil) by Omar Shargawi (Denmark, 2008) ‘for its strong directing and acting work. By showing narrow shots, the director chooses an appropriate style in order to present restrictions in a closed society. The Jury also welcomes the great captivating rhythm of the film.’

Dioraphte Award: Mutum by Sandra Kogut (Brazil/France, 2007) “With its condensed emotion and boundless energy, this precisely directed and acted film tells the story of a harsh world with genuine urge. It is uncompromising in its vision and unsentimental in its treatment. Its poetic wholesomeness is evident in the textured details of a remote time and place that are also very close to our hearts. We were very moved.”

NETPAC Award: What on Earth Have I Done Wrong?! van Niu Doze Chen-zer (Taiwan, 2007) “It is a début film that has deftly crafted a humorous drama that mocks filmmaking with great sensitivity and arrives at a profound insight into the human condition”

A Special Mention was awarded to: Crude Oil (Cai you ri ji) by Wang Bing (China, 2008) “Its dispassionate expose of the hardship of human labour which is the basis of economic progress."

FIPRESCI Award: The Sky, the Earth and the Rain (El cielo, la tierra, y la lluvia) by José Luis Torres Leiva (Chile, 2008). “ its breathtaking cinematography combined with subtle sound design that seamlessly integrates and contrasts human beings and nature. The jury is also impressed by the director’s empathic approach which examines people yearning for affection yet unable to express emotions in a direct manner“

KNF Award: Cargo 200 (Gruz 200) by Alexei Balabanov (Russia, 2007).
MovieSquad Award: Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi & Vincent Paronnaud (France, 2007).
Arte France Cinéma Awards: The Pervert’s Guide to Ideology by Sophie Fiennes, a production of Kasander (UK/The Netherlands).
Prince Claus Fund Film Grant: In What City Does It Live? by Liew Seng Tat / Dahuang Pictures.
Audience Award: Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi & Vincent Paronnaud (France, 2007).

No comments yet