Monday, January 29, 2018

68th Annual ACE EDDIE Awards Winners

A couple of days ago the ACE society had their awards ceremony and perhaps the biggest surprise is to have I, Tonya winning an editing award as believe there was nothing outstanding in film when it came to editing, sigh.

More expected Dunkirk collected the Dramatic award which paves a road to an Oscar win in the editing category.

Winners are in *BLUE.  To check winners in all categories, go official site here.

A few moments ago the American Cinema Editors Society announced the nominations for the 2018 EDDIE Awards which recognizes outstanding editing in film, television and documentaries.

Noteworthy are the changes organizers did to television and documentary categories where in general there is a clear category simplification and if you wish to learn changes go official site here.

Know is the first industry tech group to announce nominations but the biggest surprise is that there is NO surprise! (lol)  Just check the list of 10 films divided in Dramatic and Comedy categories and will notice that are the same films everybody have been talking about since the start of current awards season.  Perhaps the only dark horses are Molly's Game, Baby Driver and Blade Runner 2049; the rest are the films many are betting will get an Oscar Best Film nomination.

Again this year there will be discussions about what is a Comedy and what's not; so, to not spoil the habit here are my two-cents:  NONE of the five films nominated in the Comedy category are comedies.  Four are (strong) dramas and one is an action film.  Know don't really understand or like American humor, but yes, I did not laugh at all when watching any of those five movies.  Sigh.

By-the-way EDDIE Dramatic winner tends to become the Oscar winner, but somehow feel that this year winner could come from more from what group calls comedy.

Best Edited Feature Film Dramatic
Joe Walker for Blade Runner 2049
*Lee Smith for Dunkirk
Alan Baumgarten, Josh Schaeffer and Elliot Graham for Molly's Game
Michael Kahn and Sarah Broshar for The Post
Sidney Wolinsky for The Shape of Water

Best Edited Feature Film Comedy
Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss for Baby Driver
Gregory Plotkin for Get Out
*Tatiana S. Riegel for I, Tonya
Nick Houy for Lady Bird
Jon Gregory for Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Edited Animated Feature Film
*Steve Bloom for Coco
Clair Dodgson for Despicable Me 3
David Burrows, Matt Villa and John Venzon for The Lego Batman Movie

Best Edited Feature Documentary
Aaron I. Butler for Cries from Syria
*Joe Beshenkovsky, Will Snidaric and Brett Morgen for Jane
Ann Collins for Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold
TJ Martin, Scott Stevenson and Dan Lindsay for LA92

To check nominees at official site plus all television categories go here.  Awards ceremony will be on January 26 at the Beverly Hilton International Ballroom.

No comments yet