Saturday, May 07, 2022

2022 Queer Palm Selection

The Queer Palm is the Cannes Film Festival queer, gay, lesbian, bi, trans, queer, and more (LGBTQ+) award. Every year, a jury, including journalists, non-profit organizations members or artists, rewards one film listed in one of the following Cannes Film Festival selections : The Official Selection (in and out of Competition, Cannes Premiere, Special Screenings, and Midnight Screenings), Un Certain Regard, The International Critics’ Week, the Directors’ Fortnight, The ACID’s (independent films) selection. The Jury considers a film’s artistic, LGBTQ+ and gender-related topics qualities in order to award this film.

This year the president of the Jury is none other than the director of La Fracture, the 2021 Queer Palm winner: Catherine Corsini, one of my favorite directors and yes, have seen almost all her fabulous films and especially enjoyed her whimsical lesbian interest films.

The 2022 edition of the Queer Palm award has announced the selection with seventeen (17) feature films and twelve (12) short films.

The Selection

Feature Films

Close, Lukas Dhont, Belgium, Netherlands and France (G)
Les Amandiers (Forever Young), Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, France and Italy
Tourment Sur Les Îles (Pacifiction), Albert Serra, Spain, France, Portugal and Germany (G?)
жена Чайковского Zhena Chaikovskogo (Tchaikovsky's Wife), Kirill Serebrennikov, Russia and France

Un Certain Regard
Joyland, Saim Sadiq, Pakistan (GT)
Kurak Günler (Burning Days), Emin Alper, Turkey (G)
Le Bleu du Caftan (The Blue Caftan), Maryam Touzani, Morocco, Denmark, Belgium and France (G)
Rodéo (Rodeo), Lola Quivoron, France

Cannes Premiere
Chronique d'une liaison passagère, Emmanuel Mouret, France
Dodo, Panos H. Koutras, Greece, France and Belgium
Irma Vep, Olivier Assayas, USA (TV series)

Special Screenings
Riposte féministe, Marie Perennès and Simon Depardon, France (documentary)

Midnight Screenings
Moonage Daydream, Brett Morgen, UK (documentary)

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs
Fogo-fátuo (Will-o’-the-Wisp), João Pedro Rodrigues, Portugal (G)
La dérive des continents (au sud) (Continental Drift (South)), Lionel Baier, Switzerland
Les Cinq diables (The Five Debils), Léa Mysius, France
Un varón (A Male), Fabián Hernández, Colombia, France, Netherlands and Germany (G)

Short Films

Gakjil (Persona), Sujin Moon, South Korea, 6'
Le Feu au lac (Fire at the Lake), Pierre Menahem, France, 15'

Feng Zheng (The Silent Whistle), Li Yingtong, Emerson College, USA, 18’
Mumlife, Ruby Challenger, AFTRS, Australia, 15'
The Pass, Pepi Ginsberg, NYU, USA, 15'

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs
Aribada, Simon(e) Jaikiriuma Paetau and Natalia Escobar, Colombia and Germany, 30'
Des jeunes filles enterrent leur vie (Burial of Life as a Young Girl), Maïté Sonnet, France 33'

Semaine de la Critique
Dang Wo Wang Xiang Ni De Shi Hou (Will You Look At Me), Shuli Huang, China (documentary)
Hideous, Yann Gonzalez, UK
Las Criaturas que se Derriten bajo el Sol, Diego Céspedes, Chile and France
Στον Θρονο Του Ξερξη On Xerxe's Throne, Evi Kalogiropoulou, Greece
Swan dans le centre (Swan in the center), Iris Chassaigne, France

President: Catherine Corsini, director, France
Marilou Duponchel, journalist, France
Djanis Bouzyani, actor, France
Stéphane Riethauser, director,  Switzerland
Paul Struthers, producer, Tribeca and Sidney festivals programmer, Australia

Selection was reproduced from organizers facebook post here.

No comments yet