2017/2018 Key Dates
Film Critics: Today, December 10, nominations from San DiegoFCS, North TexasFCA and San FranciscoFCC.

Saturday, July 07, 2012

47th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival Award Winners

The 47th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, a non-specialized festival with four competition categories, took place from June 29st to July 7th this year. It was organized by Film Servis Fesival Karlovy Vary, a.s., with Jiří Bartoška as president of the festival and Karel Och as artistic director.

On July 7th 2012, the festival’s juries presented the following awards at the closing ceremony.

Official Selection Competition

Crystal Globe Grand Prix: Mer eller mindre mann (The Almost Man), Martin Lund, Norway

Special Jury Prize: Romanzo di una Strage (Piazza Fontana: The Italian Conspiracy), Marco Tullio Giordana, Italy

Best Director: Rafaël Ouellet for Camion, Canada
Best Actress: Leila Hatami in Peleh Akhar (The Last Step), Ali Mosaffa, Iran
Best Actor: (tie)
Henrik Rafaelsen in Mer eller mindre mann (The Almost Man), Martin Lund, Norway
Eryk Lubos in Zabić bobra (To Kill a Beaver), Jan Jakub Kolski, Poland
Special Mention:
Pavel Liška, Tomáš Matonoha, Marek Daniel and Josef Polášek in Polski Film, Marek Najbrt, Czech Republic and Poland
Yannis Papadopoulos in To agori troei to fagito tou pouliou (Boy Eating the Bird's Food), Ektoras Lygizos, Greece

President: Richard Peña, USA
Rajko Grlić, Croatia
Maria Hatzakou, Greece
Makram Khoury, Israel
Joanna Kos-Krauze, Poland
Ivo Mathé, Czech Republic
François Papineau, France

Other Awards

East of the West Award: Dom s bashenkoy (House with a Turret), Eva Neymann, Ukraine
Special Mention: Aurora (Vanishing Waves), Kristina Buožytė and Bruno Samper, Lithuania, France and Belgium

Forum of Independents
Independent Camera Award: Smrt čoveka na Balkanu (Death of a Man in Balkans), Miroslav Momčilović, Serbia
Audience Award: Hasta La Vista! (Come As You Are), Geoffrey Enthoven, Belgium

Documentary Films in Competition
Best Documentary under 30 minutes: Story for the Modlins, Sergio Oksman, Spain
Best Documentary over 30 minutes: Poslednata lineika na Sofia (Sofia's Last Ambulance), Ilian Metev, Bulgaria, Croatia and Germany
Special Mention: Soukromý vesmír (Private Universe), Helena Třeštíková, Czech Republic

Non-Statutory Awards

FIPRESCI Prize: Peleh Akhar (The Last Step), Ali Mosaffa, Iran

Ecumenical Jury Prize: Camion, Rafaël Ouellet, Canada
Special Mention: Estrada de Palha (Hay Road), Rodrigo Areias, Portugal and Finland

NETPAC Prize: Tepenin ardi (Beyond the Hill), Emin Alper, Turkey and Greece
Europa Cinemas Label Award: Romanzo di una Strage (Piazza Fontana: The Italian Conspiracy), Marco Tullio Giordana, Italy
FEDORA Prize: Zdeněk Jiráský for Poupata (Flower Buds), Czech Republic

Crystal Globe for Lifetime Achievement Award: Helen Mirren, UK
Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema: Susan Sarandon, USA
Festival President's Award: Josef Somr, Czech Republic

To check the announcement at the official site go here. The 48th Karlovy Vary IFF will be held from June 28th to July 6th, 2013.

Do příštího roku!

No comments yet