Thursday, May 24, 2012

51e Semaine de la Critique – Critics’ Week Award Winners

A few minutes ago the parallel section announced the award winners handled at the brief closing ceremony and here they are in *BLUE.  To read official announcement please go here.

Not in the official announcement but already in the news and have seen photos, the winner of the Grand Rail d'Or.

A few minutes ago La Semaine organizers announced the jury of the new prize, The France 4 Visionary Award that aims to reflect the cinephile's passion and enthusiasm for new talent in the film industry. The jury is comprised by four international young apprentices or professional critics and one VERY accomplished (and VERY) interesting director. These are the jury members.

The Jury
President: Céline Sciamma, director, France
Victor-Emmanuel Boinem, Belgium
Kim Sehee, South Korea
Ryan Lattanzio, USA
Bikas Mishra, India

To read about each juror go here.

---End of Update 1---

A few hours ago Charles Tesson, Artistic Director of La Semaine de la Critique announced the selection and as always films seem to be strange, but this year I find some shorts quite puzzling. These are the seven (7) films in the feature films selection.

*Aquí y Allá, Antonio Méndez Esparza, Spain, USA and Mexico Grand Prize winner.
*Au galop (In A Rush), Louis-Do de Lencquesaing, France
המשגיחים *Les Voisins de Dieu (God's Neighbors), Meni Yaesh, Israel and France Prix SACD winner.
*Hors les murs (Beyond the Walls), David Lambert, Belgium, Canada and France  Grand Rail d'Or winner.
*Peddlers, Vasan Bala, India
*Los Salvajes (The Wild Ones), Alejandro Fadel, Argentina  ACID/CCAS Award winner.
*Sofia’s Last Ambulance, Ilian Metev, Germany, Croatia and Bulgaria Visionary Award winner.

Grand Prix Jury President: Bertrand Bonello, director, France
Francisco Ferreira, film critic, Portugal
Akiko Kobari, film critic, Japan
Robert Koehler, film critic, USA
Hanns-Georg Rodek, film critic, Germany

Short and medium length films
La Bifle (The Dickslap), Jean-Baptiste Saurel, France
Ce n’est pas un film de cow-boys (It’s not a Cowboys Movie), Benjamin Parent, France Petit Rail d'Or winner.
Circle Line, Shin Suwon, South Korea Canal+ Award winner.
O Duplo (Doppelgänger), Juliana Rojas, Brazil Special Mention.
Family Dinner, Stefan Constantinescu, Sweden
Fleuve rouge, Song Hong (Red River, Song Hong), Stéphanie Lansaque and François Leroy, France
Hazara, Shay Levi, Israel
Horizon, Paul Negoescu, Romania
Un Dimanche matin (A Sunday Morning), Damien Manivel, France Discovery Award winner.
Yeguas y Cotorras, Natalia, Garagiola Argentina

Prix Découverte Short and Medium Length Films: João Pedro Rodrigues, director, Portugal

Special Screenings
Opening night: *Broken, Rufus Norris, UK
Closing night: Walker - Beautiful 2012, Tsai Ming-Liang, Hong Kong and Manhã de Santo António (Morning of Saint Anthony’s Day), João Pedro Rodrigues, Portugal and France

*Augustine, Alice Winocour, France
J’enrage de son absence (Maddened by his absence), Sandrine Bonnaire, France, Luxembourg and Belgium

*First Film, competes for Camera d’Or

To check info about each film go here. The parallel section will run from May 17 to 25. Awards will be given on May 24th at the Closing Night ceremony.

Last year the top winner, Las Acacias, was a very pleasant positive surprise, so I hope this year we will again get a good surprise from this selection that in the past has had mostly very strange movies –even for me that am very open to new experiential cinema.

Watch trailers and info @MOC

No comments yet