Tuesday, June 16, 2009

35th Seattle International Film Festival Award Winners

Recently the SIFF announced the award winners and here they are for feature films.

New Directors Showcase Competition
Grand Jury Prize
: The Other Bank, George Ovashvili, Georgia and Kazakhstan, 2009
Jury Statement: We give our prize to The Other Bank. It is a picaresque narrative with a powerful mise-en-scène and an exceptional skill in addressing a complex post-war situation through a remarkable character incarnated by a 12-year-old nonprofessional.

Best FutureWave Feature: My Suicide, David Lee Miller, USA, 2009
Jury Statement: For its ability to bring an issue clouded by controversy bravely into focus for a breadth of audiences through exceptional editing and organic character progression.

Special Jury Award: Sounds Like Teen Spirit, Jamie J. Johnson, UK, 2008
Jury Statement: For excellence in capturing the universal experience of young adults discovering their place in the world.

Golden Space Needle Audience Awards
Best Film
: Black Dynamite, Scott Sanders, USA, 2009
Best Director: The Hurt Locker, USA, 2008

To check the award winners in all categories go here or here.

No comments yet