2019/2020 Key Dates
Film Critics Update: Today, January 14 - Winners from Denver FCS.

Sunday, February 02, 2020

34th Teddy Awards Lineup

The 2020 Berlinale program has NOT been published in full, will happen on February 11th, but Teddy Awards organizers already published the first overview of films that will compete for this award in this edition.  Post will be updated if applicable after February 11.

The 34th Teddy Award takes place within the framework of the Berlin International Film Festival from February 20 to March 1 and is awarded in the categories Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Film, Best Short Film, Jury Award and the TEDDY Readers Award.

As we know, Berlinale will honor Ulrike Ottinger with the 2020 Berlinale Camera, she was awarded the 2012 Special Teddy Award and is one of the world most renowned filmmaker of outstanding lesbian interest movies.

On February 28th is the awards ceremony and the after show Teddy Party, both will be at the Volksbühne Berlin. Annie Heger is the host of the Teddy Award ceremony.

These are the films in the preview

Feature Film
Alice Júnior, Gil Baroni, Brazil (T)
Berlin Alexanderplatz, Burhan Qurbani, Germany and Netherlands
Charlatan, Agnieszka Holland, Czech Republic, Ireland, Poland and Slovakia (G)
Die letzte Stadt (The Last City), Heinz Emigholz, Germany
Futur Drei (No Hard Feelings), Faraz Shariat, Germany (G)
Kød & Blod (Wildland), Jeanette Nordahl, Denmark
Kokon (Cocoon), Leonie Krippendorff, Germany (L)
Las Mil y Una (One in a Thousand), Clarisa Navas, Argentina and Germany (L)
Meu nome é Bagdá (My name is Baghdad), Caru Alves de Souza, Brazil (L)
Minyan, Eric Steel, USA (G)
日子 Rizi (Days), Tsai Ming-Liang, Taiwan (G)
Schweterlein (My Little Sister), Stéphanie Chuat and Veronique Reymond, Switzerland
Shirley, Josephine Decker, USA
叔 叔 Suk Suk, Ray Yeung, Hong Kong and China (G)
The Twentieth Century, Matthew Rankin, Canada
Vento Seco (Dry Wind), Daniel Nolasco, Brazil (G)

Always Amber, Lia Hietala and Hannah Reinikainen, Sweden
Automotive, Jonas Heldt, Germany
Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets,  Bill Ross IV and Turner Ross, USA
La casa dell'amore (The House of Love), Luca Ferri, Italy (T)
Petite fille (Little Girl), Sébastien Lifshitz, France
Si c’était de l’amour (If It Were Love), Patic Chiha, France
Vil, má (Divinely Evil), Gustavo Vinagre, Brazil
Welcome to Chechnya, David France, USA

Short Films
Babylebbe (Babydyke), Tone Ottilie, Denmark, 19'
El Nombre del Hijo (The Name of the Son), Martina Matzkin, Argentina
Extractions, Thirza Cuthand, Canada
HaMa’azin (Listening In), Omer Sterenberg, Israel
Panteres (Panters), Èrika Sánchez, Spain
Playback. Ensayo de una Despedida, Agustina Comedi, Argentina
Untitle Sequence of Gaps, Vika Kirchenbauer, Germany
Who Can Predict What Will Move You, Livia Huang, USA

Dispatches from Elsewhere, Jason Segel and Wendey Stanzler, USA
Sex, Amalie Næsby Fick, Denmark
Trigonometry, Athina Rachel Tsangari and Stella Corradi, UK

The Jury
Cristian Rodríguez, journalist, film fest programmer, Spain
Sylva Häutle, director and curator film fest, Germany
Nataleah Hunter-Young, film programmer, Canada
Ksenia Ilina, film critic and curator, Russia
Heitor Augusto, freelance programmer and film critic, Brazil
Gao Yitian, film programmer and fest director, China
Chris Belloni, filmmaker, producer and director, Netherlands

Queer.de Readers Jury
Robert Moussa, filmmaker, Germany
Amanda Halbrock, film enthusiast, Germany
Detlef Stoffel, activist, Germany
Joyce Newrzella, filmmaker, Germany
Fabian Schäfer, freelance journalist, Germany

No comments yet