Monday, January 29, 2018

22nd Annual Art Directors Guild Awards Winners

Two nights ago the guild announced the winners for the 2018 edition of these annual awards that honor production design in 11 categories of film television, commercials, music videos and, for the first time, animation features.

ADG President Nelson Coates and Art Directors Council Chair Mark Worthington presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Jonathan Fernandez serving as host.

Winners are in *BLUE.  To check winners in all categories check press release at official site here (pdf file).

Yesterday the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) announced the nominations for the 22nd edition of their Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards in theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos and, for the first time, animation features.  The announcement was made by Art Directors Guild President Nelson Coates and Awards Producers Thomas Walsh and Thomas Wilkins.

As previously announced, ADG Awards will honor eight-time Academy Award Nominee Katheleen Kenedy with the Cinematic Imagery Award. The “William Cameron Menzies Award” will honor Disney’s Oscar nominated animation filmmakers Ron Clements and John Musker. A special Leadership Award will be bestowed upon International IATSE President Matthew D. Loeb. The Outstanding Creative Achievement Award will be given to Production Designer Michael Baugh. Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to Production Designer Norm Newberry Emmy-winning and Oscar-nominated Production Designer/Set Designer James Murakami, Scenic Artist John Moffitt, and Senior Illustrator/Art Director Martin Kline. The late Oscar-winning Production Designer Sir Ken Adam (Dr. Strangelove, James Bond) Senior Illustrator and Bambi’s Concept Designer Tyrus Wong will be inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame.

ADG Awards are open only to productions when made within the U.S. by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions.

Not easy to guess which film could win the Oscar in the production design category and neither to guess the Oscar nominees but in the past five years, the winner of period film went to win the Oscar twice, once was fantasy category winner and once was contemporary category winner.  So our best guess will come when we learn the Oscar nominees and learn ADG winners as of now it's hard to do estimates.  For me, production design award-deserving movies are Blade Runner 2049 and Wonder Woman, then perhaps Logan; the other nominees have good production design but nothing that could be out-of-the-ordinary.

These are the Nominees

Period Film
Sarah Greenwood for Darkest Hour
Nathan Crowley for Dunkirk
Jim Clay for Murder on the Orient Express
Rick Carter for The Post
*Paul Denham Austerberry for The Shape of Water

Fantasy Film
Sarah Greenwood for Beauty and The Beast
*Dennis Gassner for Blade Runner 2049
Rick Heinrichs for Star Wars: The Last Jedi
James Chinlund for War of the Planet of the Apes
Aline Bonetto for Wonder Woman

Contemporary Film
Stefania Cella for Downsizing
Rusty Smith for Get Out
Chris Jones for Lady Bird
*Francois Audouy for Logan
Inbal Weinberg for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Animated Film
William Cone and Jay Shuster for Cars 3
*Harley Jessup for Coco
Olivier Adam for Despicable Me 3
Grant Freckelton for The Lego Batman Movie
Matthew Button for Loving Vincent

To check nominees for other categories go official site here (pdf file) or here for press release and options to open file. Winners will be honored at the Awards Gala on Saturday, January 27 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

No comments yet