Monday, September 19, 2016

2016 European Discovery - Prix FIPRESCI Nominations

At the Oldenburg International Film Festival in Germany, the European Film Academy has announced this year’s nominations for the European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI, an award presented annually in co-operation with the International Federation of Film Critics to a young and upcoming director for a first full-length feature film.

This year’s nominations were determined by a committee comprised of EFA Board Members Dagmar Jacobsen (Germany) and Angeles González-Sinde (Spain), filmmaker and 2015 nominee Tom Sommerlatte (Germany), expert Mihai Chirilov (Cluj FF, Romania), and FIPRESCI representatives Isabelle Danel (France), Krzysztof Kwiatkowski (Poland), and Neil Young (UK). On invitation by the festival, the committee met in Oldenburg and decided on the following nominations.

These are the five (5) nominees.

Câini (Dogs), Bogdan Mirică, France, Romania, Bulgaria and Qatar
Hymyilevä mies (The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki), Juho Kuosmanen, Finland, Germany and Sweden
Jajda (Thirst), Svetla Tsotsorkova, Bullgaria
Liebmann, Jules Herrmann, Germany
סופת חול Sufat Chol (Sand Storm), Elite Zexer, Israel and France

The European Film Academy congratulates the nominees. The nominated films will soon be submitted to the more than 3,000 EFA Members to elect the winner. The European Discovery 2016 – Prix FIPRESCI will then be presented at the European Film Awards Ceremony on Saturday, 10 December, in Wroclaw, European Capital of Culture 2016.

No comments yet